Traveling Alone Part One

In order to travel alone (especially long distances), you need to be the kind of person who knows how to make the best of your alone time. In my experiences, I haven’t had too much of a problem being alone a lot of the time because I know how to keep myself busy with personal projects, hobbies and activities.

Before I started traveling, and all throughout my life, I have considered myself to be a pretty independent individual. When I was a boy, I would keep myself busy by playing with building blocks and action figures. As an adult, my hobbies have gotten a bit more sophisticated, and now instead of having a battle royale with my Power Rangers, I am creating web sites, flash movies and computer games.

Luckily for me, I’m not very hard to please, and I don’t require much to stay happy, but for others, it may not be so easy. If you can find something you’re really interested in, whether it be Thai boxing or Thai cooking, you may just be able to get by without losing your mind by focusing on the things that make you happy.

When it comes to going out and socializing, it’s in your best interest to approach every situation with an open mind and a gracious smile. It can be tough (even for the most motivated, confident people) to get out of the hotel room and socialize, even if you really want to. If you can set simple goals for yourself like, “Tonight, I will go to a bar that I’ve never been to,” or “Today, I will check out the gym down the street,” it softens up your mind and doesn’t make it seem like so much of a hassle. Whenever you find yourself having thoughts like, “Man, I wish my friends were here,” it’s best to just take a deep breath, open up your guide book, and look for something new to do, rather than drowning in your sorrows all day long.

Leave a Reply

